Iceland: Whale Watching

In the Easter Holidays 2016, I went on my exciting trip yet; Iceland. I was incredibly excited to discover the wonders of the mountainous landscape, and explore one of the arctic’s gems.

First, I arrived in Reykjavik, the capital city of Iceland. My aim was to explore the city and participate in local activities, most notably: Whale Watching. I had heard that there were many Humpback Whales in the harbour, a beautiful spectacle to see for the first time. So on the first day of my trip, I packed my bags and went searching for Whales. I boarded a boat and setup the 300mm lens. I was rearing to go and excited to see what the Icelandic shores were giving homes to.

A while after the Boat ride had begun, news was spreading across the boat of a Humpback Whale sighting not to far from the boat itself. Brimming with excitement, I edged forward through the crowd to the front of the boat, camera at the ready. I couldn’t seem to see anything until  suddenly there was a splash of water in the corner of my eye and a brush of black appeared on the blue canvas. I opted for the quick point and shoot option as it began to go into a deep dive. I wasn’t quick enough. Annoyed that I missed my chance, I still had determination. After that, the chances just kept on coming. A lot of them I missed, but I was lucky enough to capture a few photos in those precious moments that the whale surfaced.humpback-whale-deep-divehumpback-whalehumpback-whale-2

Over all, I would say it was one of the best experiences of my life, and I am privileged to have had the oppotunity to see one of the world’s most elegant natural beauties.

One thought on “Iceland: Whale Watching

Leave a Reply

